It has been 6 months since my last post. I can’t say too much has changed since then. The one major change is my attempts at enforcing a budget to ensure we will meet our payoff deadlines of the balance transfers I took out to pay off my car. No real problems so far. I will probably provide a post later on to detail how it has gone so far. But that’s not for now at least.

I figure I will take a stab at starting this up again for a few reasons:

  1. To get thoughts that would normally drive me crazy in my head, off my mind. Lots of stress and worries these days mainly about money.
  2. To make me think my decisions through a little better. Organize my thoughts on money things.
  3. Have a record to look back on as I progress in paying down my debts. Looking back at the first few posts encouraged me seeing how much I’ve already paid off in a few months. Every little bit really did help I guess, even if I don’t see the difference right away. $5 here and there out of 100+k is hard to stay motivated sometimes.
  4. Who knows, maybe someone in the same boat (tons of student loans) will come across this blog and be inspired. At least they will feel company that they aren’t the only one and things can change.
  5. And this is a long shot. Maybe (I really doubt it) a blog will help my writing skills. Writing coherent sentences and organized thoughts has always been my downside. As you can probably tell already.

Well I’ll try again whenever topics come across my mind. We will see how long it lasts.

With that out of the way. Now for the numbers:

So we have made some progress. More or less on track with what I planned for mid-year. This has us with about 25k paid off in the 6 months of 2009, which is more than was averaged per year for 2007 and 2008. I guess the only thing is to keep going and stick to it. As there is still 4-5 years left of this crazy repayment.

All I can do is look forward to the day where the $4,000 out of every month is going in mypocket instead of the banks! That will be nice.

