Of the past 4 things I’ve purchased on eBay, 3 of them have had some issue or another. One never showed up and I had to work though Paypal to get a refund. One took over 6 weeks to arrive and then didn’t even fit the product it was specified for. Another wasn’t compatible with the product it said it was. The two that required returns, would have cost more to ship them back then they cost initially! So frustrating, especially when I took all the basic precautions. I bought only from US sellers and checked feedback (on the lookout for fake feedback.

What happened to the days when you could buy nearly everything off of eBay without any thought? I bought my first iPod (over $400!) on eBay from a non-US seller and had no issue. I’ve never thought twice about it. Sadly, individual sellers are more reliable then the stores or power sellers. But now I think I am willing to pay the extra price to be reliable. It’s not worth saving a few bucks when there is a 50% chance that you will be out money, have to pay for shipping back for a refund, or don’t receive the item for weeks. It has gotten too big that you can’t trust it anymore.

