Since we have moved we decided to see how long we could go without cable. Prior to moving, our cable+internet bill was $208. For only one TV! Needless to say I think we got a little carried away with adding extras, then just accepted the cost as is. Since all we watch is baseball during the season we figured it was a perfect time to quit.

It’s been about 3 weeks now without it, and I have to say there are still times I still miss it. I haven’t come across other activities to fill my time I would normally watch TV. I find myself coming home after work, sitting on the couch, and staring at the blank flat screen. I think lazy Saturday and Sunday mornings are the worse though. Before I can get my coffee in I would normally just blow through the entire morning on mindless TV. I still have the urge to do so, but I think I could easily scale back and turn it off after an hour now.

But that’s not to say I haven’t seen the benefits. We used to watch TV straight after work, through cooking dinner, and eating. Its nice to just sit down at the dinner table, have quiet, and nice conversation. Not too mention I think we’ve both lost weight by not being distracted while we are eating! I’ve filled my Saturday and Sundays with bringing my cat and the laptop onto the patio, writing blog posts, and planning my day. I can’t say I get terribly too much more accomplished. But mainly, I feel like less time is lost to nothingness.

We plan on getting cable again for the start of football season, or at least baseball playoffs. I’ve saved a coupon for 6 months to keep the costs down to $50 promotional/month. Best part is, the off season for baseball is conveniently that, October to April, 6 months. We’ve found alternatives to fill our HBO, Showtime, and movies need. So that can keep the bill low. I think I can swallow $100/month. Actually be happy with it.

