So I will be jobless at the end of November. I can’t say I haven’t been stressing about money constantly since I heard the news. With only two weeks left at this job and a still incomplete resume (I’ve known for a little over a month), it is an understatement to say I’m scared. Optimism, self motivation, and discipline have never been my strong points. And that is what I’m going to need to rely on to get back on my feet quickly. I’m anticipating this will end up not only being a career change but a large amount of self-improvement at the same time. It’s probably well needed as I feel I’ve been in a rut for the last year or two. I’ve just been living for the weekend with nothing really to show for it except a paycheck every two weeks.

After severely cutting the budget and forecasting out our finances, this is where we stand:

March – We will need to start living off our savings (wedding, emergency, relocation)

July – I’d need to get a job this month in order to be able to start paying extra on loans in 2011.

January 2011 – We’d run out of money completely. Would need to use credit cards to cover our net negative monthly or stop paying the minimums on our loans.

To be honest I’m not really sure what to expect in terms of time until I land a job. I’m guessing around 8 months, but I hope it is shorter for my own sake. My experience is specialized and there are no companies in the immediate area which any of my skills would apply. So I would basically be looking for an entry level position.

The other thing I am coming to terms with is a very large paycut of 25-30%. That is tough with when I had repayment planned. Now the schedule is more then doubled. It is what it is though. It just means more sacrifices will need to be made and time until I’m debt free increases. Things could be much worse though. So I guess I am okay with it. We will see how it turns out.

